New Jersey Child Restraint Laws
Any child under the age of 8 years old and a height of 57 inches shall be secured as follows in the rear seat of a motor vehicle:
A child under the age of 2 years and 30 pounds shall be secured in a rear-facing seat equipped with a 5-point harness.
A child under the age of 4 years and 40 pounds shall be secured as described in (1) until they reach the upper limits of the rear-facing seat, then in a forward-facing child restraint equipped with a 5-point harness.
A child under the age of 8 and a height of 57 inches shall be secured as described in (1) or (2) until they reach the upper limits of the rear-facing or forward-facing seat, then in a belt positioning booster seat.
A child over 8 years of age or 57 inches in height must be properly secured by a seat belt.
In many instances, parents and caregivers do not install child seats correctly. Child Passenger Safety Technician's (CPST's) are trained to assist with the installation and to ensure the safety of these child seats.
The Demarest Police Department has assigned Police Officer Del Greco as the Child Passenger Safety Technician. Officer Del Greco can assist Demarest Borough Residents who require help with the installation or inspection of a child seat.
To have a child seat installed or inspected please fill out the following information to set up an appointment with Officer Del Greco.
The image below is a quick overview of the New Jersey Child Seat Law courteous of the New Jersey State Police.
Child seats can be recalled for numerous reasons, to ensure the child seat you have purchased has not been recalled click the links below.